Are your breasts too sexy for your babies?

I don’t think I actually have to give much commentary on the following; unfortunately it really does speak for itself.  You may have already heard/read about Mother and Baby magazine in the UK running an article in which the Deputy Editor talks about why she never breast fed her babies.  She says, ‘I wanted my body back. (And some wine) … I also wanted to give my boobs at least a chance to stay on my chest rather than dangling around my stomach.’

Not content with thinking that wine for her is more important than breast milk for her babies she doesn’t stop there, saying of her breasts, ‘They’re part of my sexuality, too – not just breasts, but fun bags. And when you have that attitude (and I admit I made no attempt to change it), seeing your teeny, tiny, innocent baby latching on where only a lover has been before feels, well, a little creepy.’

And just when you thought it couldn’t get any worse she goes on to label other women who have made the decision, likely for entirely different reasons to her own, to stop breastfeeding, saying, ‘I often wonder whether many of these women, like me, just couldn’t be fagged (did not want to make the effort) or felt like getting tipsy once in a while.’

Surely the role of a magazine called Mother and Baby is to support mothers in feeding their babies in whichever way they choose?  Surely its role isn’t to label mothers who breastfeed as ‘creepy’ women with not one iota of sensuality in their saggy and, obviously, sober breasts.

Breastfeeding is hard.  I needed to see a lactation consultant with each of my three babies to prevent my nipples from being almost chewed off.  But the lactation consultant helped fix things so that breastfeeding did become easy.  I’d hate for a woman in those first few days of breastfeeding difficulties to read an article like this because it provides them with no encouragement whatsoever to continue doing something that the health authorities suggest is the best option for babies.

 And, for those women who cannot breastfeed, how demeaning for them to have their choice labelled in this way, to be virtually called drunken slackers. 

 Women should feel supported and encouraged in whatever way they choose to feed their babies, shouldn’t they? 

 It’s hard to believe that women have come very far over the years if people still believe that having sexy boobs is the only thing that matters.

2 comments

  1. marlish glorie

    What a complete and utter ninny the editor of Mother and Baby is , not to mention having very poor self esteem issues about her body changing. If she can’t handle it changing with breastfeeding how will she cope with the aging process!
    And how will she cope with children, full stop, with such a selfish attitude.
    Also I never breastfed my children when they were babies due to the medication I took for my epilepsy, and my boobs still drooped, go figure!
    And now in my fifties the face and entire body droop – not a problem – jeez there’s helluva lot more to worry about than the normal processes of one’s life.

  2. Yes, it’s a shame that the article turned out the way it did. I know the decision to formula feed a baby can often cause a lot of angst and mums who take this path, either by necessity or choice, also need support. Unfortunately, support is one thing the article is lacking, except in the author’s breasts as she so delights in telling us.

Leave a Reply

