Why I love being a writer

There are moments in your life as a writer that affirm to to you that you’re doing the right thing, that writing is what you want to spend the rest of your life doing. One of those moments happened at the launch of The Kid on the Karaoke Stage last Wednesday night.

For those of you who don’t know, The Kid on the Karaoke Stage (or KonKs as it’s affectionately referred to by the publisher) is a new short story collection featuring West Australian writers, including me. Last Wednesday’s launch drew a huge crowd of people, so many, in fact, that when it came time for the formalities, not everyone could fit into the room. But besides the sheer number of people who came along, willing and eager to support the book and the writers, it was the atmosphere of the evening that made it so special. It was joyful. Celebratory. There was a sense that something special had been created and that everyone there wanted to be a part of that sense of specialness.

I came away reminded that writing is an exciting and inspirational thing to do and that I’m lucky to be able to do it. That I’m lucky to write in WA where there is such a great emerging and established community of writers. And that I’m lucky to be sharing the pages of this new short story collection with such a wonderful group of talented writers.

7 comments

  1. Glen Hunting

    So glad to hear you had a good time and got a nice dose of joy out of it. It was pretty swish, huh?

  2. Awww that sounds so fun! V sorry I’m in Victoria!!

  3. Hi Natasha

    I have just finished reading What Is Left Over, After and I loved it. I needed to know what had happened – not so much what happened next but what had already happened.

    It was a great premise, sad, riveting and a new angle on a really important topic, similar to one I am addressing for Creative Non-Fiction, so it was really timely and I loved it!

    • Hi Shannon, thanks so much for your feedback. It’s always so lovely to hear that someone has enjoyed the book, especially when that someone is another writer.
      And I have to say, you’ve made my week – my husband has been away in China and I’ve been singlehandedly managing 3 kids with gastro so thanks for the morale boost!

      • I hope your husband has arrived home with a massive bag of presents, a 10L bottle of gastrolite, and an iron stomach and then given you the day off for rest and writing…

Leave a Reply

