Writers Ask Writers: Where Do You Write?

I know I promised that this week I’d put up Post 2 of my explanation of why I think Scrivener is so wonderful. But that will have to wait until next week because this week is actually time for the second post in our Writers Ask Writers series, where I join with five other West Australian writers in a shared blog. This month we are talking about the magical and not-so-magical places where we sit down and write all the words that go into our books. Here’s my story:

IMG_0339

For about 3 years it was just a set of black lines on a plan, with the label “The Studio” printed across the middle. At that stage, it was hard to imagine having a dedicated space to write, let alone something as grandiose as a Studio. I was used to writing in the dining room of the house we were renting, which was also the main thoroughfare to the kitchen and the living room. So it was not a peaceful place, and with its colour scheme of beige on beige, it was not a particularly inspiring place either.

Then in April 2012 our new house and thus The Studio was ready. I had chosen the wallpaper for The Studio at about the same time we started planning the house – a bold pink and silver floral Florence Broadhurst number that lifts my spirits whenever I see it.

So on one side of the room is the beautiful wallpaper and on the other side is a wall of glass that looks out over the garden and lets in light and makes the whole room a bright and happy place to be. And on my desk is an enormous screen, which I love, because it stops me getting sore eyes and a sore neck when I’m typing lots of words.

IMG_0340I also have one entire wall covered in bookshelves because I love sharing my space with all these wonderful words. How can I not aspire to greatness when I have Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte and Margaret Atwood sitting just within reach?

I find I always have a touchstone book on my desk that connects in some way to the book I’m working on. With my first book, it was Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin; there was something about the storytelling voice in Atwood’s book that allowed me to channel the voice I needed to tell Gaelle’s mother’s stories in What is Left Over, After. When I was writing If I Should Lose You, I had Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking on my desk. And for my latest novel, I have Amor Towles’ Rules of Civility and Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women on my desk; I love the sass of Towles’ main character Katey, and the sisters in Alcott’s book put me in mind of the sister’s in the book I’m working on.

IMG_0338

And on the final wall is this gorgeous painting, by WA artist Lori Pensini. My husband bought it for me for Mother’s Day last year and I love the idea that the girl in the painting has wandered off to a dreamy, faraway place, of the kind where I go when I’m writing a book. So it seems fitting to have her there on the wall to remind me what a great job I have – one where I get to live inside my imagination for a couple of hours every day.

On the same wall is artwork of a different kind, that created by my gorgeous children. I am especially proud of the poster I was given by my 5 year old for Mother’s Day a fortnight ago. The teacher had given the children a set of sentences that they had to complete, all about their mums. One of the sentences was “My mum always says …” WhenIMG_0341 I was looking at the posters in the pre-primary classroom, I noticed lots of kids had finished that sentence with the words “Be quiet!” Or “Pack your school bag” so I was a little worried about what I might find on my daughter’s poster. But guess what? It said the most beautiful thing of all: “My mummy always says … I love you Audrey”. It was one of those rare moments as a mother when you think you might actually be doing something right. So it sits very proudly on the wall near my desk where I can see it whenever I need to remember what is most beautiful in my life.

As for the other writers? Well Amanda Curtin has definitely written in some of the most exotic places – find out more about that here. You can check out Annabel Smith’s vintage typewriter here, and Emma Chapman has a great quote from Hilary Mantel pinned up above her desk – you might want to steal it and pin it above your desk too. Sara Foster is certainly the most nomadic of us, writing her way around Perth, and you can read about Dawn Barker’s quest for a child-free writing space here.

16 comments

  1. Pingback: Writers ask writers: writing space | looking up/looking down

  2. Pingback: Sara Foster - Where do I write?

  3. annabelsmith

    I’m a bit jealous that your writing space has 4 actual walls! I have a corner, which i love, but my studio also doubles as my husband’s office and our wardrobe, which is often, a floordrobe!

  4. marlish glorie

    Another terrific blog Natasha. Okay it was a collaborative effort, but I’m giving you the credit! Fascinating to see where people write. I write all over the joint ;the office, the car, the bedroom, but mostly I’m nestled inside Lindsay’s studio where I’m surrounded by hundreds of paintings. It’s a great place to write – well away from the house, and with stunning views of our garden-cum-forest its easy to get lost in my writing.

  5. Glen Hunting

    My kitchen table suits me fine. It does rather help when you have the whole apartment to yourself.
    Your daughter’s present to you is lovely. My mother has kept something from me in a similar vein when I was a similar age, but it’s VERY embarrassing to me now…

    • Yes, kitchen tables are great when they’re not likely to be covered in lego and spilt milk! Unfortunately my computer wouldn’t last five minutes on our kitchen table.

      • Glen Hunting

        Oh, I didn’t say that my kitchen table was actually neat. Mine is usually groaning under the weight of old bills, random scribblings and mouldering fruit. My laptop is a very hardy beast, thank God…

  6. I do have a study, which used to be my daughter’s bedroom…now she’s grown and moved away, I still think of it as her room and it helps me to write. She chose the colour of the walls and her bed and wardrobe are still there and the window has a lovely view of the garden:-)

  7. Glen Hunting

    The fruit isn’t nearly as mouldy as I am…

  8. I adore your writing space and the Florence wallpaper is perfect. I had a garden writing shed built as we live in a tiny house in the inner city. I papered it with a Laura Ashley print with birds and butterflies which my German publishers spotted and ended up making the cover of my book. It’s so wonderful to have a space that really does make your heart sing. The other advantage of a garden writing shed is that there’s no internet connection! I’m tearing myself away from your blog and heading there now. xx

  9. Pingback: Writers Ask Writers: Where I Write |

  10. Pingback: WRITERS ASK WRITERS: Where do you write? | How To Be A Good Wife

Leave a Reply

